Founders Sculpture Prize

IMG_8602 F.jpg

Thomas Merrett (Pictured above) 

Details of this prize will be posted on this website later in 2019

The Founders' Sculpture Prize is a biennial competition sponsored by the Founders Company, the Gilbert Bayes Charity and the Society of Portrait Sculptors. It offers a First Prize of £7,500 plus a bronze cast of the winning sculpture. The theme changes for each competition but the sculpture must be figurative using the human form. Entrants are restricted to figurative sculptors in the first ten years of their sculpting careers. 

In 2013 the winner was George TRIGGS with 'Surrender' which was displayed with the Runners up maquettes at the Guildhall Art Gallery at the Private View 18th June 2013.

Runners up: Saroda Sagar BASHURI, Emma BROUGHTON, Grant McINTYRE

Winners of the Founders Prize:

  • 2007 Sophie Dickens 

  • 2009 Valentina Zlatarova 

  • 2011 John Ensor 

  • 2013 George Triggs 

  • 2015 Ellen Christiansen

  • 2017 Thomas Merrett 

Ellen Christiansen.jpg

Pictured: Ellen Christiansen