About Us

The Society of Portrait Sculptors is a representative body of professional sculptors committed to making portrait and figurative sculpture accessible to a wider public. The aims of The Society are to advance the art of three-dimensional and bas-relief portraiture; to maintain, promote and encourage the highest standards; to challenge preconceptions about portrait sculpture and to stimulate increased interest in an art form that is timeless yet contemporary. To achieve this The Society works in several ways but primarily through its Annual Open Exhibition and by seeking to encourage education and training in the art through lectures, prizes and sculpture classes.

The Society is a UK registered charity




The Council

Marcus Cornish MA RCA MRSS, President

Suzie Zamit, Vice President

Robert Hunt, Honorary Secretary

Antony Dufort FRSS

Louisa Forbes

Thomas Merrett

Hywel Pratley

Fiona Whitehouse, Society Secretary and Treasurer

Current Members 

Nigel Boonham FRSS

James Butler FRSS RA

Marcus Cornish MA RCA MRSS

Ellen Christiansen

Nanna Drewes Brøndum

Antony Dufort FRSS

Clive Duncan FRSS RBA

Laurence Edwards FRSS

Bryan Ellery

Benjamin Fedosky

Paul W.Fletcher ARCA

Louisa Forbes

Neal French FRSS

Jane Hamilton

Stephen Hicklin

Brook Hobbins

David Houchin

Robert Hunt

Martin Jennings FRSS

David Klein MRSS

Willow Legge

Tristan MacDougall

Silvia MacRae Brown

Michael Marriott FRSS

Thomas Merrett

Etienne Millner FRSS

Olivia Musgrave MRSS

Karen Newman MRSS

Philip Nathan NDD. Cert RAS. FRSS

Vlasta Prachatická

Hywel Pratley

Ian Rank-Broadley FRSS

Mark Richards FRSS

Irena Sedleka FRSS

Eve Shepherd MRSS

Rosemary Smith ARCA MRSS

Professor LiXiang-qun

Martin Yeoman

Suzie Zamit

Shangzi Zhu

Examples of members work can be seen on the Gallery page

New Members 

Past Presidents

  • Sir Charles Wheeler 

  • T.B.Huxley-Jones

  • Franta Belsky

  • Michael Rizzello

  • Robert Thomas

  • Sheila Mitchell

  • Richard Browne

  • Anthony Stones

  • Nigel Boonham FRSS

  • Etienne Millner FRSS

  • Olivia Musgrave FRSS 

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2020 Copy right The Society of Portrait Sculptors